About the Sons of the American Revolution

From our National SAR Website -   "The National Society Sons of the American Revolution (NSSAR) is a Congressionally chartered premier male lineage society with sixteen U.S. Presidents and twenty seven Medal of Honor recipient Compatriots on our member rolls. With more than 208,000 members admitted since being founded on April 30, 1889, the NSSAR members are intensely devoted to serving the communities they hail from across all fifty states and in five countries abroad."

The Sons of the American Revolution is a national patriotic and historical organization whose members are male lineal descendants of the patriots that fought in, or supported the American Revolution between the years 1774-1783. Anyone with an interest in genealogy, with an ancestor who lived during the Revolutionary War, is encouraged to   Contact Us.

Our organization and its members are dedicated to:
  • Maintaining and Extending the Institutions of American Freedom
  • To Honor, Respect, and Support US Veterans
  • The Value of American Citizenship
  • An Appreciation for Patriotism
  • A Respect for Our National & Historic Symbols and Honor the American Flag
  • Preserving and Teaching our American History Through Various Educational Programs
  • To Support and Recognize Local Members of Law Enforcement, Fire & Rescue, and Emergency Medical Services.
  • To Remember "Our obligation to our forefathers, who gave us our Constitution, the Bill of Rights, an independent Supreme Court, and a Nation of Free Men."
  • A list of SAR Patriotic, Historic and Educational Goals

Photo by Chuck Rann - Mount Vernon Chapter

About the Mount Vernon Chapter

The Mount Vernon Chapter is certified by the National and Georgia Societies of the Sons of the American Revolution, and meets in Dunwoody GA. It was chartered on September 24th, 2016 and has a membership around 80 members.
See Founding Charter Document | Link to Newspaper Article

In late 2015 three current members of the Sons of the American Revolution; Tom Chrisman, Ross Glover and Shep Hammack met to discuss the possibility of forming a new chapter in the Dunwoody/Sandy Springs area. Forming a new Sons of American Revolution chapter has been compared to raising a militia unit during the Revolution. Their conclusion was that this area needed and could support a new SAR chapter.

On January 17, 2016, Shep Hammack hosted a meeting at his house with 12 current SAR members from several different chapters, and the decision was made to move forward and form a new chapter. A charter application was submitted to the Georgia Society at their annual State meeting on January 23rd, and it was approved by the Board of Managers that same day.

First Year Officers
  • President - Shep Hammack
  • Vice President - Jim McDonald
  • Recording Secretary - Bill Floyd
  • Corresponding Secretary - Ted Fricke
  • Treasurer - John Cunningham
  • Registrar/Genealogist - Tom Chrisman
  • Chancellor - Chris Galanek
  • Sergeant-at-Arms - Rusty Redding
  • Chaplin - David Wiley
  • Historian/Librarian - Geoff Oosterhoudt

Mount Vernon Chapter Formation Meeting, January 17th, 2016 | View Larger Version

(L to R) Jim McDonald, John Cunningham, Rev. Bill Floyd, Carl Bhame, Ross Glover, David Wiley, Shep Hammack, Rusty Redding, Tom Chrisman, Randy Pollard, Geoff Oosterhoudt, and (Craig Honaman sitting?).
This new unnamed chapter held its first meeting at Hudson's Grill on March 17th with 26 men and 7 wives in attendance. Compatriot Joe Pugh presented the first program on the life of Baron DeKalb.

The members chose to meet in the evenings on the 2nd Tuesday of each month, and discussion regarding the chapter name began. Because Mount Vernon is the name of George Washington's home in Virginia AND the name of the street connecting the cities of Dunwoody and Sandy Springs, the members chose this distinguished name for their new chapter

Mount Vernon held its Charter Banquet on September 24th at Villa Christina with 99 attendees. President General J. Michael Tomme brought greetings and presented membership certificates to 10 new SAR members. Georgia State President, Allen Greenly swore in the chapter officers with Shep Hammack as President. By the end of 2016 Mount Vernon had a membership of 67, half of which were new to the SAR.

Mount Vernon Chapter ~ Charter Members
Marshall Alexander
William T Brannen, Jr.
Thomas A Chrisman
Christopher B Colwell
Peter M Colwell
Steven A Colwell
Zachary L Cone
John E Cunningham Jr.
Davis M Dunn
Denver T Dunn
John L Dyer
Larry L Eddy
Carl L Espy
Charles Fetter III
Charles E Fetter Jr.
William L Fisher
William M Fisher
William N Floyd III
William N Floyd Jr.
James G Fricke
William T Fricke Jr.
Christopher P Galanek
Jack C Galanek
Samual A Galanek
John S Galt
William R Glover Jr.
E Sheppard Hammack
Donald M Hart
James W Hayes
Tommy W Hayes
Charles C Henry
Hubert M Hill
Justin C Honaman
Caden P Kelly
Jordan N Kelly
Ryan C Kelly
Jameson W Lily
William A Mayfield
Robert D McCleskey
James T McDonald
John P McMeans
William Warren McPhillips
Lucas R Nelson
Charles C Olson
Geoffrey C Oosterhoudt
Thomas M Owens
Cecil Ray Palmer
Christopher Morgan Payne Jr.
Warren Randolph Pollard III
Thomas Graham Purkerson
David E Reap
Alan R Redding
David R Redding
Russell Redding Jr.
Maxwell Reed
Owen H Robbins
Ross Robbins
Scott H Robbins
Thomas A Robbins
Walker S Robitscher
Joe C Rude III
Jonathan W Spencer
James W Spencer Jr.
Benjamin F Tingle
John E Wade
David L Wellons
James M White
Larry C White
David L Wiley
David L Wiley Jr.

NEXT: Chapter Info | Member Page
TOP | BACK | Refresh Page | Contact Us
© MountVernonSAR.org  ~ All Rights Reserved